How to tell you’re getting old 2


I have been a gamer most of my life. I count myself lucky to still have a group of friends whom I meet regularly to play pen-and-paper role-playing games with. Most of these people I’ve known longer (much longer) than a decade and we jokingly refer to ourselves as ‘The Old Farts’ with the exception of “Youngster” who is barely in his mid-twenties.

Recently, we decided to switch to a new game system. We’re using the most recent edition, but our game master had a copy of the very first edition which he passed around during one of our evening meetings, and we were leafing through the pages reminiscing about the “good old times”. I looked at the publication date and remembered where and when I first played that game: 1991, in Weymouth, in the United Kingdom. I said: “Wow, guys, I just realised that the first time I played this game was 25 years ago.” The youngster gave me a funny look, and I realised that he had just realised that that was around the time he was born!

Talk about surrounding yourself with young people to feel young yourself.

 

AtTheGamingTable

At the Gaming Table

 

Leave a Reply

