Neil Gaiman to write Batman (and he can’t do, well, “stuff” online unnoticed)


Neil Gaiman just posted on his blog today that he will be doing a two-part Batman story next year. Yay!

However, he also writes:

(I just called my Visa card to fix something, and found myself being asked if I was the Neil Gaiman. I said yes, I was. “So,” said the Visa person, “Are you going to be writing an episode of Dr Who?”)

Which made me wonder. When you’re famous, or at least well-known, can’t you have a secret subscription for say, well, “stuff” online simply because you know that your credit card company knows and the person processing your stuff might actually *know* you, i.e. you’re more than just a name to them? Embarrassing. Unless you don’t care, of course.

Furthermore I do not want to imply that Mr. Gaiman *does* or might want to do such things (I cannot even express my appreciation for his work well enough), it’s just that his comment made think about this.

There is something to be said for being just a number…

Leave a Reply

